It's been another crazy news week for Facebook and Instagram

And it's been another crazy news week for Instagram and Facebook! This week, the social giants added new features (again) and Facebook announced that it accidentally unblocked blocked users for without user permission due to a bug on the platform.

As a social media manager, it's important that you stay on top of the latest social news. To aid in this, we'll give you a breakdown on of this week's social media news in this article and discuss how it may affect your social media plans (if at all).

Let's get started.

Facebook adds Story archiving, lets users repost their stories

Facebook rolls out Story Archive

Social Media Today noted that Facebook recently rolled out a Story archive feature that keeps a log of your past Facebook Stories. On the mobile app's home page, you'll see a "Your Archive" button on top of the row of new stories. You can view your past stories from this menu and repost them by tapping on them. 

You can repost old stories from your archive too—just tap on it. This is helpful for social media managers as you can easily recycle old content without having to recreate old stories. Gone are the days of manually creating a Facebook story every single day.

Instagram releases All Caught Up tool to keep you up to date

All Caught Up 

Earlier this week, Instagram rolled out a new feature called All Caught Up. You may see a green checkmark when scrolling through your Instagram feed with an accompanying message that tells you that you're all caught up with viewing new posts since the last time you logged onto Instagram.

This is super helpful since Instagram's feed is no longer in chronological order. This made it hard to know if you're done viewing all of your new posts since the last time you logged in. Luckily, this new feature mitigates that problem. 

Facebook accidentally unblocks users without permission

Facebook announces bug that unblocked users

But this week isn't all new features. 

On July 2nd Facebook announced that—between May 25th and June 2nd—blocked users were temporarily able to see some content posted by the person that blocked them. Blocked users weren't able to see content shared with friends, but were able to see content shared with a wider audience. For example, photos with privacy settings set to "friends of friends."

Facebook said this in its blog post

  • It did not reinstate any friend connections that had been severed;
  • 83% of people affected by the bug had only one person they had blocked temporarily unblocked; and
  • Someone who was unblocked might have been able to contact people on Messenger who had blocked them.

This news is definitely not welcome in a post-Cambridge Analytica world. Facebook noted that this issue has since been fixed and that it's sent users messages to review their blocked list. We're hopeful that Facebook has taken precautions to make sure that this doesn't happen again.

Bottom line

While these news stories don't have a large impact on social media marketers, it's always good to keep up with industry changes and trends. This way you know how your audience is using the networks you post to, letting you better optimize your content.

What do you think of this week's social news? Tweet us your thoughts!

Need a great social media management app? Try Social Report for free.

SocialReport02-Re.png